jump to navigation

From the desk of a dirty mick March 2, 2006

Posted by dr. gonzo in BlogNotes.
trackback

It’s been about 3 months since I started this blog, one random December morning. So far I have noticed quite a few return visitors, which tells me one of two things. Either sometimes what I write is intrguing or people are just blindly curious as to what kind of nonsensical dribble will pour forth from my cranium next. Either way is fine, hopefully you’ll keep reading.

Due to my increasing focus on this blog and in life in general on space sciences such as astrophysics and astronomy, I have added a slew of new links on the sidebar, many of them space-related, although not all them.

I don’t intend to blog solely about space but it will probably continue to be the main focus of my efforts.

I don’t usually babble about my life too much but here’s what’s going on. Classes at Kish, writing a book, and in any spare time blogging randomly here and being a general hermit.

Some of the blog posts upcoming include a look at cargo cults (specifically Jon Frum), a piece on kava, a database I am compiling of declared “nuclear emergencies” from 1999-2006 and hopefully I will also have time to complete a look at attendence and voting patterns in the DeKalb city council that I began last year while working at a news publication. I am also hoping to follow up my post on drilling and logging in the Allegheny National Forest. We shall see.

And don’t forget to check out the Postcards from Venus post.

Comments»

1. Glock21 - March 2, 2006

Either blog format works for me… I’d say go with whichever works best for you.

Stopping by here is practically a daily routine for me… never know if it’ll be some interesting odd ball story, impending planetary doom, or some ‘tree-hugging hippy’ post.

Was wondering who the other contributor, Rollo, was though… if he/she’s posted anything I think I missed it.

I’m coming up on the anniverary of my little blog, but my blog isn’t quite as entertaining. I run a selfish blog… mostly for my own benefit. Instead of having to repeat the same arguments over and over I keep them in an easy-to-link place. This one is more fun since it has that ‘daily factoid desk calendar’ appeal but with up to date factoids.

Imagine flipping to the new day on your desk calander only to have it tell you that a giant asteroid just got upgraded to ‘might kill you’ status!

2. yinn - March 3, 2006

I’ve always liked the “pirate treasure map” format here, kind of a down & dirty feel; but you’ll rock wherever you blog from & categories are more user-friendly IMO. So, Boing! Ball back in your court!

p.s. Is it just me, or are the word verifications getting longer & longer?

3. Rollo Tomasi - March 3, 2006

rollo works in mysterious ways ;)

Harmonium uses the WordPress format and it seems a lot less restrictive than blogger’s format. I also think the format for writing/posting things is set up much better than blogger. Not to mention the fact that it’s quite a bit more pleasing to the eye than the brown papyrus paper of a blogger template.

4. A Mc - March 3, 2006

the word verifications are a bit ridiculous not mention near impossible to read sometimes, but if I turn them off i get mad comment spam.


Leave a Reply

