jump to navigation

‘Where have you gone Joe Dimaggio?’ June 15, 2006

Posted by dr. gonzo in BlogNotes.
trackback

So I haven’t posted with the frequency of before my vacation. Any writing I have been doing has been of the fictional variety. I must apologize and I assure you I will return to a regular posting schedule soon, maybe next week.

I am working on an inspired piece of short fiction that explores the dark fringes of the human mind and how people are able to justify themselves. It’s a cool tale I think, one of my best, it has a different voice established through first person story telling, which works really, really well in this short. The main character as yet unnamed is a revolutionary of sorts, the narrator: a journalist. Here is an excerpt from it below, if you want to see more let me know, I am happy to share. Hoping to make some money off this one. ;) Hoping.

It really wasn’t all that bad, I told myself. I distracted my mind with my usual justification for most of the wrong I had participated in. The story. After all, and again, I was merely an observer, a non-combatant embedded reporter, an unbiased third party witness to history. I am neither for nor against war, reverse-eco-terror, state sanctioned murder, oppression, electoral fraud, corrupt politicians, pork barrel spending, illegal wiretapping or the wanton destruction of the property of others. Anyway, I didn’t kill those people.

Comments»

1. yinn - June 16, 2006

I’ve long been fascinated by the process by which nearly any one can justify any thing. Sure, bring it on. Note that I’m interested EVEN WHILE I am ANNOYED with you for putting that song in my head.

2. dr. gonzo - June 22, 2006

Heehee. I will post the story in its entirety as soon as finish editing it. I am in the midst of edit #1, only the beginning . . . Just keep checking the writing page, there will be a PDF version there eventually. : )

. . . Joltin’ Joe has left and gone away . . .


Leave a Reply

