jump to navigation

Friday protest April 7, 2006

Posted by dr. gonzo in DeKalb, Iraq.
trackback

The regular Friday anti-war protest that I have been attending went pretty well this week despite the cold April wind putting me in a position near the edge of frostbite. Heh.

This week was especially gratifying because John Laesch, the Democratic Congressional Candidate for the 14th District of Illinois , made an appearance. In case you don't know for some reason the 14th District is home to none other than Speaker of the House J. Dennis Hastert.

Hastert is evil. Just so you know. And by John just showing up he is making a big statement that many Democrats have failed to make. This war is wrong. We do not have to stand for it. Finally, people are starting to see that, I can only hope that it's not too late.

On another note, I must say, there are truly some ignorant people in DeKalb, and I know it's not just DeKalb, it's everywhere. Anyway, I had never been called a "Commie Pinko MF" and a "liberal pussy" in the same day so that was quite gratifying for me when that happened at this week's peace demonstration. It's even more gratifying to know that I, of all people, am a military veteran and only 6 percent of my age group can claim that status.

The reason I find this gratifying is not because I flaunt my military experience like a badge but because the pro-war folk who take the time to call me a "liberal pussy" are certainly not fighting this war, if they were they wouldn't be driving around DeKalb yelling unintelligent obscenities at me.

Anyway, I would love to see more people out there. Next Friday is supposed to be 70 degrees, the cold will be no excuse. It's my challenge to you, my readers (if there are any–haha) to show up and be heard. All of you can spare one hour of your time, in fact unless you or someone you love is dying there is absolutely nothing better you could do with that hour of time next Friday from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Vote Laesch!

Comments»

1. yinn - April 9, 2006

Fridays at that time are really hard for me, but I do manage to get out there about once per month for the last 30 minutes or so. Feels like a blessing that it’s no longer dark.

Were you ever there when car occupants have tossed handsful of pennies at the group? It takes a couple (uneasy) seconds to figure out what it is that they’re throwing.

I’m kind of surprised that Laesch has shown up again, considering that some of the prominent members of Interfaith were really angry about his campaign tactics. OTOH, he has come out strongly against the war & he IS the anti-Hastert.


Leave a comment